Class Reviews

Home/Classes/Class Reviews
Class Reviews 2016-09-05T11:50:30+00:00

The Great Adventure Lab instructors get many, many verbal compliments from parents whose children take Lego Robotics and our other after school science, programming and engineering classes. Here are some of the written compliments, along with some of the feedback we get from parents when we call them randomly during each term to see how we’re doing. You can find class-specific written reviews at the bottom of any class page.

Want reviews like these for your after school activities? Invite us to your school! If you are an after school activity coordinator, please contact us about observing one of our classes!

 


icon-storybook-scienceThank you for this very interesting report on their class yesterday. R. really enjoyed it, and the whole family is admiring his car!

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, March 2016

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThanks! The kids had a lot of fun with you!

-Whetstone E.S. activities coordinator, Gaithersburg, Md. Class:  Robo Challenge Machines, April 2015

 

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThanks for a great class this winter! W. has really enjoyed learning Scratch through Great Adventure Lab at KP. He is psyched to show his game at the KP Science Fair in April!

-Kensington Parkwood E.S, Kensington, Md. Class: Intro to Video Game Programming, March 2016

 


 

icon-space-engineersThank you for sending the wonderful updates – H. absolutely loves the class. I am sorry it will be over so soon!

-Rock View E.S. parent, Silver Spring, MdClass: Space Engineers, March 2016

 

 


icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesI just wanted to say how much my boys have both enjoyed this Robotics class, they look forward to it every Thursday, keep up the good work!

-Stonegate E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  March 2016

 


icon-video-game-programming

Thank you so much for a great class. My son J. loved it!

-Rock View E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Intro to Video Game Programming, March 2016

 

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThanks for the recap and the great suggestions on where to go. J. continues to love the class, asking me after each one when he gets to go again. Thanks for your great work!

-Concord Hill School parent, Chevy Chase, Md. Class: Storybook Science, March 2016

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesK. has been loving robotics. Thanks so much for all you do!

-Private class parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  February 2016

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThank you for the pictures of the robotics class just completed at NPS. My son D. absolutely loved it. We hope you will be offering more classes there.

-National Presbyterian School parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Lego Robotics,  February 2016

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThank you for the updates. It’s great to be able to learn more about what’s happening in these sessions. J. was showing us yesterday what he learned on the software we downloaded to one of our iPads – he’s having a great time.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Video Game Programming, February 2016

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThanks so much! It was a great class and I am happy everything went so smoothly on the first day. The kids loved it!

-Viers Mill E.S.Activity Coordinator Mary Gregory,  Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, February 2016

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingA. is very excited to show me the program next week. He has enjoyed the class!

-Somerset E.S. parent, Chevy Chase, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, February 2016

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesMy daughter B.  loved the first robotics class! …  I don’t think any of the previous [after school] instructors have sent emails about the classes so this is extremely helpful! I really appreciate it.

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Intro to Lego Robotics, February 2016

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingMy son J. loves the class. What an exciting way to learn!

In J.’s spare time, he has gone on his iPad and created some projects on his own.

-Rock View E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Intro to Video Game Programming, February 2016

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesI have to say that my son was thrilled about this class before it started and was even more excited after class today. He had a great time, had lots of information to share with me and my husband afterwards and he is excited about next week and what you will all do.

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Intro to Lego Robotics, February 2016

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers class

Thank you for all of the detailed information about each class along with pictures! My child is really enjoying it.

-Viers Mill E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, February 2016

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesI really enjoy reading about these sessions and I know T.’s enjoying the projects. Thanks for bringing this program to the school!

-National Presbyterian parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Lego Robotics,  February 2015

 

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you so much for this. My son, J., had a wonderful time on Monday. He was protesting going before the first class, but I knew he’d love it since he’s constantly doing experiments (much to the detriment of my spice drawer) at home. He did love it and he can’t wait for next time. And I look forward to hearing all the details.

-Concord Hill School parent, Chevy Chase, Md. Class: Storybook Science, February 2016

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThanks so much for your fun and thought-provoking classes. N. loves them.

-Viers Mill E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, February 2016

 

 


 

icon-young-engineers

I just want to thank you for doing such a great job with the young engineers class. C. has come home VERY excited about her activities at young engineers. She says you are a really great teacher, and from her project descriptions, I can tell this is true. She is learning and understanding a great deal about structure, planning, and design. This is a fun and engaging program for C. Thank you.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Young Engineers, January 2016

 


 

icon-video-game-programming

Thanks for teaching this class! H. came home so excited about it – it was the highlight of her week. She already showed us the Scratch website and helped her sister create a sprite and background. It sounds like a great intro to computer programming.

-Viers Mill E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, January 2016

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classes

My kids and I would like to take the time to say THANK YOU! J. and C. are having so much fun learning about all the different ways of to make animals move. My youngest son rarely sits still in any of his classes. But, it appears that he behaves and listens in robotics class. Wow!! It’s just really amazing to see all these kids engaged in what they’re doing.

Thanks for your hard works and dedication to to our kids. We definitely need more instructors like you. P.S Great pictures!

-John Hanson Montessori parent, Oxon Hill, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  November 2015


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesMy daughter S. absolutely loves this class and we were all very impressed with the professional program, great updates and fun projects the kids worked on. She is eager to sign-up for the next one!

Thank you for all the work you did with the kids. Really very inspiring!

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Lego Robotics,  November 2015

 


 

icon-space-engineersWell done! I really appreciate what you are doing. V. is very enthusiastic about this class. He tells me about it every time.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Space Engineers, November 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesI really had fun building the spinning top. It was so fun. I loved building it , but I loved playing with it too. Can’t wait until next class.😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀

-Ardmore E.S. student, Springdale, MdClass:Lego Robotics,  November 2015

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingMy daughter L. absolutely loved it ! She shared the great news about her first session and looks forward to the next meeting!

-Capital City Charter School parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Video Game Programming, November 2015

 


 

Thank you for your time and email updates. L. really enjoyed the Lego’s class with you! We plan to sign her up for next class.

-Forcey Christian parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Storybook Lego, November 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThank you so much for a great day. B. hasn’t stopped talking about his Robotics class since he got home! Excellent work!

-Mater Dei parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  November 2015


 

icon-video-game-programmingThank you very much. A. enjoyed so much. We hope to retire once he creates the next big app/game.

-Forcey Christian parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, November 2015

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThank you very much for teaching all these interesting and fun concepts to the children. S. loved your class!

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Intro to Lego Robotics, October 2015


 

parkland logoThank you! You are doing great work with our students!

-Parkland Aerospace Magnet Middle School Principal Khanny Yang. Re: Parkland Afterschool Enrichment Partnership, October, 2015

Editor’s note: For this partnership, The Great Adventure Lab provides STEM programming for 3 hours a day after school, five days a week: Engineering on Mondays, Mindstorms Lego Robotics on Tuesdays, Video Game Programming on Wednesdays, 3D Design on Thursdays and Hands-on Science on Fridays.

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you for a great class. My son, A., definitely enjoyed himself and gave us a full report each week on the activities of the class. He is sad to see it end and hopes to meet up with you in a future class. Thank you again!

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, October 2015

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classMy daughter is S. and I can’t tell you how much she loves the class! Her only complaint is that the class is too short.

-Cold Spring E.S. parent, Potomac, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, October 2015

 


 

icon-electronicsThanks for this note – when I got home from a business trip on Saturday – [My son] L. could not wait to tell me that he ‘lit a light bulb with batteries and play dough’… he liked it. Great work.

-Oyster Bilingual School parent, Washington, D.C. Class:  Electronics) October 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesMy son J. had a GREAT time. Thank you! Very excited for this opportunity for him!

Mater Dei parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  October 2015

 

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThanks for the emails and great interaction! It’s nice to hear the updates and correlate with their progress! I can tell you that K. is really enjoying the class!

-College Gardens E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, October 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesM. couldn’t stop talking about the class last night. He is so excited about the new Legos! Thank you for taking the time to send the amazing description below. We are looking forward to hearing more from M. – and you!

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Intro to Lego Robotics, October 2015


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers class

Thanks for the detailed description of the class and the fun pictures. I really appreciate the time you took to write. It will be fun to talk to our son T. about the different types of gears. At the same time, we (the parents) learn too. He had a great time and is looking forward to next week!

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, October 2015

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingO. loved the class, and is excited to come back.

Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Intro to Video Game Programming, October 2015

 

 


 

icon-early-engineers

Thanks for the email last night; E. loves the class and we are looking forward to the next few classes.

-Metropolitan Nursery School parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Early Engineers, October 2015

 

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classI am M.’s mom and he said he loved it! I was so glad he did, he said the class was awesome (his words!) and that the instructor was very nice and he had a lot of fun. He can’t wait to go back next Tuesday. 🙂

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, October 2015

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThe first thing A. did at pick-up today was to open his backpack so he could show me what he made in class–it was the highlight of our evening at home, too! I look forward to seeing more projects and talking to him about the class in the coming weeks.

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Storybook Science, October 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesHello! My [second-grade son] is loving his Lego Robotics class …. He had been reluctant at first to try the class, but now he talks about it all week long and looks forward to every Tuesday. Well done!

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Lego Robotics,  October 2015

 


 

icon-space-engineersIt was a great pleasure watching you and the kids launch all of the rockets. I loved that squeal of excitement after every launch, which never got old for anyone there, including the parents. Thank you for making science so much fun!

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Space Engineers, October 2015


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classes

Very happy to have passionate people about science and engineering like you teaching our son K. about robotics – he’s a budding engineer and I am sure he will learn a great deal.

-Maryvale E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  October 2015

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classHello! This is a fantastic update. Thank you so much! I can’t get K. to tell me a whole lot so this helps me to ask more specific questions versus ‘how was the class?’ He really enjoyed the class a lot and I’m hoping to chat with him more on it.

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class:Lego Engineers, October 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classes

I am so impressed by the Lego Robotics class. While on a field trip to Port Discovery, [my daughter] pointed to a moving contraption and said, “The gears make the arms move.” I asked, “How to do know that?” She replied, “We learned about gears in Lego class.” Wow! Intrigued by her response I asked, “What else did you learn?” She was able to explained the function of the UBS, motor, and motion sensor. All of this in just two classes. We can’t wait for the next class. Thanks for making Legos and engineering fun and connecting it to the world around us. Keep up the good work!

-Ardmore E.S. parent, Springdale, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  October 2015

 


 

You are so fabulous!icon-early-engineers!! S. is having the best time in your class! …Thank you for your letters and all you are doing!!”

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Early Engineers, April 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThis [report on what my son did in class] is fantastic—thank you! For the past three years, my son has participated in after school activities from time to time and it is almost impossible to figure out what they do! My son gives us some information but a lot gets lost in translation between the time he has the after school activity and the time we pick him up. I did already figure out, however, that my son really enjoyed the first session and is looking forward to next week. Thank you so much!!!!

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,  April 2015

 


 

icon-robo-challengeJ. is so excited about this class! Thank you for the updates. He now has decided he wants to be a robotics engineer 🙂

-Kipling E.S. parent, Deerfield, Ill. Class:  Robo Challenge Machines, April 2015

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceI am really impressed with your work thus far. Keep it up.

-Montgomery Housing Partnership Director of Community Life Programs Sulema Middleton Stewart,Silver Spring, Md. Class: Storybook Science, April 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classI was very impressed with the first class. Your instructors were very professional and did a fantastic job with the kids.

-Robert Frost M.S. activity coordinator, Rockville, Md. Class: Mindstorms, April 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThanks for sharing the picture of E.! She really loves Lego robotics.

-Oak View E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, March 2015

 

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThis letter meant so much to us—- shows the high quality level of your program. …not to mention the content and art integrated into the sciences. We are very impressed. I am sure [my daughter] told you but we used to live in Hawaii, so having [the volcano] as her first lesson was dynamite! Take care & thank you again!!

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Storybook Science, April 2015

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThank you for everything! It was a great program.

-Our Lady of Mercy parent, Potomac, Md. Class:  Robo Challenge Machines, April 2015

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms class

I just wanted to say thank you for these weekly updates. J. really enjoys the class. I am putting him into a robotics camp this summer so hopefully he can apply the skills from your class and become an exemplary student!

-E.L. Haynes Charter School parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Mindstorms, April 2015

 


 

icon-robo-challengeWe appreciate your fabulous instruction! Your class is terrific, and the kids are enjoying it immensely. … What great photos….and how informative are these follow-up newsletters from the Robotics Instructor?…. So happy w/ this after school program :)”

-Bannockburn E.S. activity coordinator, Bannockburn, Ill. Class:  Robo Challenge Machines, March 2015

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineersC. is quite enjoying the Let’s Roll Engineers class and looks forward to it every week.

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Let’s Roll Engineers, March 2015

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classesThank you very much for the update. This is extremely helpful, and very much appreciated in our house. My son, J, was very excited to tell me about what he learned in class, so clearly you are doing a great job keeping his interest.

-Maryville E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, March 2015

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingK. was so excited about what he did yesterday he didn’t even realize he was eating a healthy dinner. 🙂 Sounds like things are really coming together.

-Northfield E.S. parent, Ellicott City, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, February 2015

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you for these updates. J. really enjoys this class and I love the approach you take to teaching science. It really brings it to life and gets them to think differently about the world around them.

-Ritchie Park E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Storybook Science, February 2015

 


 

icon-video-game-programming C. is so excited about the class. He had used Scratch at home with us a bit in the past and now he’s been asking to use [Scratch] every day.

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, January 2015

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego Robotics after school STEM enrichment classes

Tuesday is D’s favorite day and it’s Lego Robotics that he likes most. I appreciate your hard work.

 -Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class:Lego Robotics 2, January 2015

 

 


 

icon-video-game-programming

My son, K, absolutely loves his lessons with [his private GrAd Lab tutor].. She is patient, kind, and fantastic with him!!”

-Parent of private student, Potomac, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, January 2015

Editor’s note: yes, we offer private tutoring, as well as private classes for small groups!

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceMy girls loved the first session and came home telling me all about the rainbow and what they learned.

-Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, January 2015

 

 


 

icon-robo-challengeOutstanding in every way. Whenever I dropped by, all of the children were engaged. The teacher was gentle and clearly connected with the kids. All appeared comfortable, not just asking questions but, consulting with him for recommendations. The e-mails sent home each week were well written and very informative. Well done!!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Robo Challenge Machines, December 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeMy daughter C. had an absolute blast with this. She cannot wait for the next session. She loved every minute of it. Thanks so much.

-Chevy Chase E.S. parent, Chevy Chase, Md. Class: Robo Challenge Machines, December 2014

 


 

icon-lego-robotics[My daughter]  came home a little heartbroken due to the fact that the 1st part of the Lego Robotics Class has ended. She loved sitting down with me and discussing what she and her classmates learned after each session. I always look forward to those conversations because she is so enthused by the class.

Needless to say, she will return for the 2nd session as she truly enjoy the class and I enjoy hearing about them.

-Ardmore E.S.  parent, Springdale, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, December 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challenge“My son, O., has been loving the class. He had a great time with catapults yesterday. We hope to enroll him in future programs. Thanks for sharing the pics and details about the class.

-Pine Crest E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md.Class: Robo Challenge Machines, December 2014

 


 

What a cool class – C. is loving it (and I’m loving the recaps!). Many thanks.

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: 3D Design, November 2014 

 


 

icon-space-engineersMy son C. is super excited about the program. I used to be a NASA engineer. So I am really excited that you are using space tech to encourage young people to learn about engineering, science and most important creativity. Thanks.

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Space Engineers, November 2014

 


 

icon-lego-robotics[My son] had only positive things to say. These sorts of activities are empowering to kids and give them confidence to learn anything they set their hearts on. Thanks for providing that to them.

-Fields Road E.S. parent, Gaithersburg, Md. Class:Lego Robotics, November 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-science[My sons] LOVE the class! Wish all of their classes were as fun and instructional as yours.

-Viers Mill E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Storybook Science, November 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank YOU for such a positive experience for my son, Sheldon. I appreciate the emails. Much appreciated!

-Gorman Crossing E.S. parent, Laurel, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, November 2014

 

 


 

icon-robo-challengeB. was so excited about this first class. When he got into the car to go home I asked him, “How was the class?”

He looked at me and said “BCE.”

“Huh?” I responded.

“Best Class Ever!”

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Robo Challenge Machines, October 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceWhat a great workshop!! E. was really excited to show me the clay models of fossils he made today. He was able to tell me the story about the little girl from England which was pretty impressive. Keep up the good work! Storybook Science is one of his favorite after school clubs. I appreciate the thorough emails that allow me to build one what he’s learning. I’m learning a lot also! ( who would of though bat poo would be good for anything!) Thanks again.

-Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, October 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you very much for sharing the lessons learned. Moreover, thank you for spearheading such a great program. [My daughter and son] came home excited about what they learned and explained the entire process in as much detail that they possibly could. They are really looking forward to the next meeting and I am looking forward to hearing my little engineers’ report.

-Ardmore E.S. parent, Springdale, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThanks so much. My kids absolutely love this course!

-Oakland Terrace E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, October 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you for the updates  . . . they are very informative and helpful. I do hope to make it to a class prior to the end of the sessions. J. is having a wonderful time!

-Mattaponi E.S., Upper Marlboro, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingI have two sons in your Westbrook ES Video Game Programming class and they love it. We found the Scratch website at home this afternoon and they are excited to “get to work”. Thank you for making the class such an enjoyable learning experience for them.

-Westbrook E.S., Bethesda, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, October 2014

 


 

icon-early-engineersThank you for this very informative class report! … Our son R. is really enjoying the class. It is great that even the little guys are being exposed to these early lessons in mechanics, even as they have fun building with Legos 🙂

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Early Engineers, October 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsVery impressive! Thanks for sharing your smarts with our little learners. Love the recaps.

-Fields Road E.S., Gaithersburg, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 

 


 

icon-storybook-science[My daughter E.]   had a great time and is very proud of her slime! 🙂

-Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, October 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you for teaching kids the basics of programming and electronics in such a fun way!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsYour class looks intriguing and as a result you’re doing a fine job teaching young minds. Thank you for all you do and especially with my daughter.

-Ardmore E.S. parent, Springdale, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 


 


icon-video-game-programming[My daughter] LOVES the class!
She has been really looking forward to it, and I’m happy it went so well. Her “mystery/surprise” project is something we look forward to seeing.

-Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, October 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classSo fun! J. loved building the catapult. Thank you. 

-St. Patrick’s School parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Lego Engineers, October 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsMy daughter came home excited about the Lego robotics class on building a roaring lion. She was particularly over excited about how they made the robot lion stand, sit, roar, and chewed on the bone as it was thrown past its mouth. Thank you for keeping her intrigued and learning.

-Ardmore E.S. parent, Springdale, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, October 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you for the updates today! J. has shared with me that he really enjoys the sessions. So far, his favorite project was the alligator.

-Bannockburn E.S. parent, Bannockburn, Illinois. Class: Lego Robotics, September 2014


 

icon-lego-robotics

Thank you so much for making this a wonderful class for J.! He is really enjoying it!

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,, September 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsA. had a wonderful time – and can’t wait for the next class!!!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Lego Robotics,, September 2014

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsI just wanted to thank you for such an exciting first day! D. has not stopped talking about the wonderful time he had. Legos are a real passion for him, clearly evidenced by his desire forLegos and only lLegos for his birthday, Christmas, and especially from the tooth fairy. It’s so terrific to have this class available and I know he’s looking forward to every Wednesday with The Great Adventure Lab. Thank you again, and we’ll see you soon.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Lego Robotics, September 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceJust a quick email to say thank you for these updates! H. has been having an awesome time in Storybook Science the last two weeks, and I enjoy getting more details so I know what was so much fun! Thanks for all you do.

-National Presbyterian parent, Washington, D.C. Class: Storybook Science, September 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you for such a thorough email. My daughter, B. had a fantastic time and told me she can’t wait until next week!!!

-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, September 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceAll I know is that each and every time I picked up my son from class the room was a hive of activity full of the excitement that only comes with implementing new found knowledge. He was thrilled with every project they made. The instructors were so patient as the children never wanted to quit what they were working on and leave. I also really appreciated the detailed feedback that I received each week via email. Thank you for inspiring my son!

-Carderock E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, June 2014

 


 

icon-young-engineersThanks for the update and for the great course … B. really enjoyed it, and it got him back into science which is great. It was fun getting to watch the egg drop and catapults for me too. I wanted to play!

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington D.C.  Class: Young Engineers, May 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so much for all your hard work at Bannockburn! Your class got rave reviews and we are excited to offer more classes in the fall. … You were terrific! … Your newsletters are fabulous! …Looking forward to working with you again soon.

-Bannockburn E.S. afterschool activities coordinator, Bannockburn, Illinois Class: Lego Robotics, June 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThank you for working with the children at [Bethesda Elementary School]. T. absolutely loves his Lego Robotics classes.

-Bethesda E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md.  Class: Robo Challenge, May  2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsI just wanted to thank you so much for the weekly updates … [My son] loves going to the club and I love how much he is learning each week! Thanks so much!

-Forest Knolls E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, May 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classJ. loved the class, and we enjoyed Tuesday night dinners where he very enthusiastically wanted to share the class activity with us. Smile. Many thanks. We look forward to your fall offerings.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington D.C. Class: Lego Engineers, May 2014

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classI think this class was great!  THANK YOU for doing such an excellent job.

-Bradley Hills E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Mindstorms, May 2014

 

 


 

icon-storybook-science

This class is fantastic! My son comes home every Wednesday just beaming! He’s absolutely loving it! Thank you so much!!!

-Bond Mill E.S. parent, Laurel, Md. Class: Storybook Science, May 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThis is awesome! Brilliant minds at work. THANKS for letting us plug in. Here are his comments: Mom, Mom, I love that legos class. It’s really fun. I like building. Wish we could do more.

-John Hanson French Immersion School parent, Oxon Hill, Md. Class: Lego Engineers, May 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsJ. loved it so much! He couldn’t stop talking about it ! Thank you.

-Bannockburn E.S. parent, Bannockburn, Illinois! Class: Lego Robotics, May 2014

 

 


 

icon-young-engineersThanks so much for a great classand for your wonderful email reports to parents. [My son] said he was frustrated when his designs didn’t work but excited to be learning so much about how to make them better!

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington D.C. Class: Young Engineers, May 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers class[My daughter] really enjoyed this whole series, even more than we expected she would. Each Friday she told us in MUCH detail what she learned. She’ll miss going now that it’s over…

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Engineers, May 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsClass went great. I got to stop in a few times to see the Lego Robotics class myself and the kids were so happy and engaged. I loved it.

-Forest Knolls E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, April 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThanks for doing such a wonderful job, D. really loved Robo Challenge!! He will definitely be taking it again next time it’s offered!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md.  Class: Robo Challenge, April 2014

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Space Engineers class for kidsThank you for your contributions to the STEM Education room Friday evening at Wood Acres Space Night! Your tables were highly popular – the kids just wouldn’t leave! .. You were excellent as a room contributor and educator. Well done!”

-Wood Acres E.S. afterschool activity coordinator, Bethesda, Md.

(event: Space Night at Wood Acres), Spring 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThanks for doing such a wonderful job, D. really loved Robo Challenge!! He will definitely be taking it again next time it’s offered!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md.  Class: Robo Challenge, April 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks so much for the update! Looks like a lot of fun. R. said it was awesome and he can’t wait until next week’s class. I appreciate how organized you are too 🙂

-Oakland Terrace E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, April 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingI just wanted to let you know A. has absolutely loved this class. We spent over an hour this weekend going through his project, he wanted to show me some changes he wanted to make — and did them with no problems at all! He definitely is understanding the logic behind Scratch. He’s a big fan. Thanks again! (from A’s dad).

A. LOVED the class! He’s been showing off his game all weekend. So impressed with what you were able to accomplish in such a short time! Is there a level 2 class? I can help coordinate that if needed. (from A’s mom)

Editor’s note: We received TWO reviews here, one from each parent. And yes, we do offer Video Game Programming 2! See link below.

-Farmland E.S. parents, Rockville, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, March 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceE. told me when he got home that he had so much fun building a straw house. So glad to know he had a blast!

-Carderock E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, March 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsZ. really loves this class! he comes home after each class just bursting with excitement and explains to us in great detail everything that they did in class. It is a pleasure to see him so excited to learn new things. Thank you for providing such a fabulous class!”

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington D.C. Class: Lego Robotics, March 2014

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineersJ.  took a new interest in his Legos and K’nex at home as a result of this class. I was so impressed that our instructor sent weekly updates – including pictures! – telling us about what they’d worked on each week.

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Let’s Roll Engineers, March 2014

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classThanks for the regular updates and the pictures- A. is really enjoying the class. Thanks for making it fun and interesting for the kids and her– she being the only girl in class!
Appreciate all your work with them.

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, South Kensington, Md. Class: Mindstorms 2, March 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThanks so much for these updates! R. is always so proud to tell his brother and I what he learned and built. This is really putting his “boring” kindergarten lessons into more perspective for him and he’s becoming more excited to learn.

-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md. Class: Lego Engineers, March 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsJ. is having a blast!!! Thanks for the pictures and updates!! That is so nice!! I greatly appreciate it since I work full-time and never get to participate to often with the kids’ school activities.

-Dayton Oaks E.S. parent, Dayton, Md.  Class: Lego Robotics, March 2014

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineersThanks for a great session of classes. Our son  loved it. He looked forward to it every week. I hope it is offered again at the school. We would definitely sign him up.

-Flora Singer E.S  parent, Silver Spring, Md.  (class: Let’s Roll Engineers), March 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeB. comes home with a huge smile and talks so much about the class – thank you so much! His brothers take robotics in school so now he feels part of the gang with the older boys.

-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md. Class: Robo Challenge, March 2014

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThanks for sending out the notes and thanks for the pictures. My son looks forward to this class every week. He loves it.

-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md.  Class: Lego Engineers, March 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceR. has enjoyed this activity a lot. Will there be another session afterwards and if so, how can we sign up? We will try to sign her up for the Lego classes! I’ve also just signed her up for [The Great Adventure Lab’s] girls-only science camp We are hooked! 🙂

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Storybook Science, March 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThank you! I loved it! I really enjoy programming, and if there are any further sessions in the future, I would LOVE to join, there are also a ton of questions I would like to ask if there is a next round about my now not so good game. Please tell me if any future sessions are available!

-Farmland E.S. student, Rockville, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, March 2014

 


 

icon-robo-challengeLooks awesome and O. is really enjoying the activity. Looking forward to Spring session!

-Farmland E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Robo Challenge, March 2014

 

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classI loved your note. E. was very excited about the launching of the Lego pieces and we now have a couple test catapults at home.

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md.  Class: Lego Engineers, March 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingMy son M. loved this class and he is very excited about programming. Does you company provide similar or Part 2 classes any time soon? Thank you very much for your valuable input in my kid’s development.

Editor’s note: Yes, we do offer Video Game Programming 2! See link below.

-Farmland E.S. parent, Rockville, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, March 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsH.  is delighted with you and with the program. He told me this morning he wished it could be Lego Robotics every day! He has never been willing to try it before so I am thrilled that it is such a great experience for him.

-Wyngate E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, February 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsOur son LOVES this class! He’s always pretty happy with the various Oyster activities he participates in, but we’ve never seen him so enthusiastic for any class like he is for yours. Cheers to a great beginning.

-Oyster Adams E.S. parent, Washington D.C. Class: Lego Robotics, February 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsBest after school activity S. has had since he started at Wyngate as a kindergartner.

-Wyngate E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, February 2014

 

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingI just want to thank you for your excellent communication. It’s really appreciated. So nice to be able to talk to my son about specifics, and keep up on what’s being done in each session.  ..  I’m grateful for the class and hope they can continue on beyond this session.

-St. Patrick’s Catholic School parent, Rockville, Md.  Class: Video Game Programming, February 2014

 


 

icon-lego-robotics[My son] really loves the class so thank you. [He] tells me he “wishes he had robotics every day.”

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, February 2014

 

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThat sounds so fun, and I know [my son] loved it as we finally got to the Grand Canyon this year so he could envision it easily! He is loving the class this time around as much as last time, so thanks for always doing such a wonderful job in there!”

Editor’s note: the project of the day focused on building a robot to rescue someone who’d fallen into the Grand Canyon!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. ClassRobo Challenge, February 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so much! M. was very proud of what they built and wanted to make sure we saw the pictures!! He really seems to enjoy the class! Thanks again-

-Wyngate E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, February 2014

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you for the feedback , great to hear you have had a successful first session! My boys were thrilled and are looking forward to the alligator session next week! Thank you!”

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda E.S. Class: Lego Robotics, January  


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks so much. My two girls loved the class ! They couldn’t say enough! Great instructor, great program.

-Wayside E.S. parent, Potomac, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, January 2014

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineers[My daughter] has been talking about your first class enthusiastically and showed me how to make a paper airplane that flips! I appreciate in the first introduction email that there was a request not to have food because of allergies … Thank you for including the photos of the kids from class!”

-Burning Tree E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md.  Class: Let’s Roll Engineers, 2014

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingAt the Cashell PTA meeting tonite, a parent praised your “program” (get it). I, of course, seconded it. And then the K teacher, who was in the next room from your class, praised your patience and fun interactions with the kids!! Thank you for everything. Job well done. (As you may remember, we are now a “Blue Ribbon School,” so a compliment from us is a great reference. 🙂

-Cashell E.S. parent, Olney, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, January 2014

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceMy daughter loved Storybook Science, we can’t wait to sign up again for the next class.

-Highland E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md.  Class: Storybook Science, January 2014

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classThanks for doing such a great job with the kids – [my daughter] looks forward to it every week– and hasn’t complained once about being the only girl in class.

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Mindstorms, November 2013

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThis class was fantastic for my 3rd grade son. He enjoyed the simple introduction to programming and building.

-Dufief E.S. parent, Gaithersburg, Md.  Class: Robo Challenge), November 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsLOVE getting all the fun pictures and stories! Thank you for all of your work and enthusiasm with this class. My son T. proclaims this is one of the best parts of his week. Wanted you to know how much we appreciate you.

-Northfield E.S. parent, Ellicott City, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, November 2013

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineers[My daughter] loved it. There were a lot of other girls in her class, which was great. I don’t think she knows engineering is more popular for boys. 🙂

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. Class: Let’s Roll Engineers, November 2013

 


 

icon-young-engineersP. decided to make another egg drop device this weekend. No restrictions on materials but he did it 100% on his own. Just tested it off a six foot ladder – first him, then me for more height, onto grass and then concrete – and we could NOT get the egg to break. He finally got to drop the raw egg in the street to smash it. He had a blast. Thanks for the terrific class!

Editor’s note: We love it when our students are so excited about class that they experiment on their own outside of class!

-Bradley Hills E.S. parent, (class: Young Engineers, egg drop lesson), November 2013

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThanks so much. The kids really enjoyed themselves and we look forward to seeing you next week Thursday. Again, we are grateful for the program and you giving the kids so much to look forward to.

Editor’s note: The Great Adventure Lab proudly provides at-cost classes to children who live at low-income housing residences managed by Montgomery Housing Partnership.

-Montgomery Housing Partnership after school activity coordinator 

Class: Video Game Programming, November 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsI have been meaning to let you know that M. is having a blast in your Lego class. He is so excited and happy when I pick him up! Thank you so much for this opportunity!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, November 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so very much for the WONDERFUL sessions you’ve given to the kids at Stone Mill. I’ve enjoyed and learned a lot in the first session and J. loved every single one of the sessions … and he hopes there will be Lego Robotics 2 sessions coming soon to Stone Mill.

-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md. Class: Lego Robotics, November 2013

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers class

My daughter told me sadly that next week is the last week … She doesn’t want it to end! She obviously has really enjoyed herself. Thanks for all you have done.

-Sligo Creek E.S. parent, Class: Lego Engineers,  October 2013

 


 

icon-early-engineersThank you for such a great experience. A had a blast!

-Beverly Farms E.S. parent, Potomac Md. Class: Early Engineers, October 2013

 


 

icon-video-game-programming[My son] is taking your Video Game class at Pine Crest. He asked me to tell you that he made a game by himself. It is called “Cat’s Game”. He’s recommending that you play the game because it is really good! 😉 Thanks for a great [class]!

Editor’s note: we love it when we inspire kids to try on their own outside of class!!

-Pine Crest E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md. Class: Video Game Programming, October 2013

 


 

icon-robo-challengeD. LOVES your class!! He spoke about it all night, so thanks so much for making it so fun and interesting!

-Garrett Park E.S. parent, Kensington, Md. Class: Robo Challenge, October 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThis was awesome. J. had such a good time and couldn’t stop telling us about his volcano!  Thanks for the work you do!!!
-Thunder Hill E.S. parent, Columbia, Md.  (class: Storybook Science), October 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so much for this email. I love hearing about what’s going on, and my daughter T. LOVED building the spinning bird last week.
-Woodlin E.S. parent, Silver Spring, Md.  (class: Lego Robotics), October 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceNice summary – thanks. You have really made this a wonderful class. … He loves fossils and everything dinosaur and his photo shows him totally engaged …
-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. (class: Storybook Science), October 2013

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThis is A.’s mom. Thank you for such informative weekly e-mails and for being such an engaging and interesting teacher.  You are doing a great job, and A.  can’t wait for weekly meetings! We only wish this class lasted much longer… Thank you.
-Stone Mill E.S. parent, North Potomac, Md. (class: Robo Challenge), October 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you for the weekly reports and pictures.  We have enjoyed them immensely and have shared them with M.’s grandparents.  M. is having a lot of fun in this class.

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda, Md. (class: Storybook Science), September 2013

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms class[My daughter] A. had a great time. She really enjoyed the class and talked all about it when I picked her up later that evening! She complains sometimes that she is the only girl in the class but I didn’t hear any thing about that this time!– all great signs. Both of us look forward to the rest of the session– it is good to hear the details from you so keep these emails coming.

Thanks for all your work with the kids, I am sure both the parents and the kids appreciate it!

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Silver Sprin(class: MindstormsOctober 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks so much for a great class. [My daughter] A. came home happy and excited. … Thanks so much for this information! [editor’s note: parents love our notes home after every class!] 

-Cold Spring E.S. parent, Potomac, Md. (class: Lego Robotics), September 2013

 


 

icon-lets-roll-engineersMy son Z.  loves your class and keeps talking about it!

-Wood Acres E.S. parent, Bethesda (class: Let’s Roll Engineers), September 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceE. loved Storybook Science and this last class in particular. He hasn’t taken off the sun beads yet. If you do have a follow-up class that would be wonderful. I love the bridging of the science with reading and would love for it to continue.

-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Storybook Science), June 2013

 


 

icon-robo-challenge[My son] really enjoyed the class! He didn’t have a favorite, but he enjoyed both sessions of Robo Challenge and was sad to see it end. Thanks for teaching the class at Lakewood!”

-Lakewood E.S. parent, Rockville (class: Robo Challenge), June 2013

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThank you so much for all your time and effort. O. LOVED the class.

-Murch E.S. parent, Washington, D.C. (class: Video Game Programming), June 2013

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classThank you for these awesome updates and the pictures. … I am a big believer in this type of STEM programming and so pleased to be part of bringing it to Westbrook through the PTA. … I can tell that the kids are learning a lot from you! 

-Westbrook E.S. club coordinator Cathy Stocker, (class: MindstormsMay 2013

 


 

icon-electronicsC. had a really great time. Thank you so much!

-Greenwood E.S. parent (class: Electronics) May 2013

 

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classThank you so much for your weekly emails and great lessons you’ve provided our children!  A. has loved it each week and felt very challenged. It’s great for him to see that simple machines and LEGOs can create cool things!

-Woodlin E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego EngineersMay 2013

 


 

icon-early-engineersYou did a marvelous job! Thanks for a wonderful experience. U. enjoyed the sessions so much that he will be signing up for [your] camp over the summer.
-Al-Huda parent, College Park (class: Early Engineers) May 2013

 


 

icon-young-engineers[My daughter] has really been loving all of the fun experiments! Her favorites have been the egg drop project, the catapult, and the bridge! She is learning a lot and is very excited about the class each week!

-Westover E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Young Engineers) May 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsD. has LOVED your class!  Thank you for the detailed reports, fun pictures, and for getting the kids so involved!
-Thunder Hill E.S. parent, Columbia, Md. (class: Lego Robotics), May 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you. P. is always so excited and full of ideas after this class. He loves it.
-East Silver Spring E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Storybook Science), May 2013

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks ever so much for the weekly updates of what happens in the classroom! My kids are having a great time, and learning a lot!
-Cashell E.S. parent, Olney, Md. (class: Lego Robotics), May 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceHe loves it! His favorite activities are the volcano, the racing cars, and the telephone. Also, Laura is fantastic and does a great job answering the questions and making science fun for the kids! Thanks for the follow-up emails too!”
-East Silver Spring E.S., Silver Spring, feedback from phone survey (class: Storybook Science), May 2013

 


 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego engineers classHe loves the class, and it gives him motivation to go to school on Mondays. He’s really interested in Robotics and loves learning about science. He can’t wait to do another class.”

-Westover E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego Engineers), May 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThe kids all had an AWESOME time!  Hoping to see you again soon!

-Flora Singer E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Storybook Science), May 2013

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThank you so much for sending these pictures!  C. came home raving about how “awesome” class was — told me all about his plane and how it poised for takeoff and had a moving propeller!  He loved the first class and can’t wait for next week.   He thinks he might like to be an engineer, so this is a very cool experience for him.  Thanks so much!

Bethesda E.S. parent, Bethesda (class: Robo Challenge), April 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThanks for another fun week!  [My daughter] thought it was fun listening to the book laying down, to see the shadows on the ceiling!  And she loved making the shadow puppets too!   She always looks forward to Wednesdays because it’s science club day! 🙂

-Forcey Christian School parent, Silver Spring (class: Storybook Science), April 2013

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceA. absolutely loves the class. And the things he brings home –he will go in detail explaining what he did.  I can’t even get him to do that for his regular school work –lol.  So Kudos to you. And thanks for sharing the pictures.

-Forcey Christian School parent, Silver Spring (class: Storybook Science), April 2013

 


 

icon-electronicsM. is enjoying himself and now wants the fancy Snap-on sets you use in class for his birthday. The basic kit we picked up second-hand isn’t nearly as captivating at the ones he uses with you all!

-Greenwood E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Electronics), February 2013

 


 

icon-electronicsThank you for your updates — it is so impressive what you’re doing and J. is loving it.

-Woodlin E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Electronics), February 2013

 

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classJ. is having a great time, and he particularly likes you as the instructor.  He can’t stop talking about everything you did in class and gives me a step by step account of everything!

-North Chevy Chase E.S. parent, Chevy Chase, (class: Mindstorms), October 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThese emails are great! I really appreciate your taking the time to inform us of the class activities. My son really enjoys this class and your professional management and execution has really impressed me too.

Thanks for setting a high bar for how after school activities should be run.

-Bradley Hills E.S. parent, Bethesda (class: Lego Robotics), October 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks! You and your team were impressive today!  And the children were totally engrossed in their project.  Well done.

-Wood Acres E.S. club coordinator Reid Lewis, Bethesda (class: Lego Robotics), September 2012

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you very much for providing such a great learning opportunity for Y. and other kids at Spring Hill. Y.  really loves your class and had a lot of fun. Thanks and look forward to hearing from you every Monday after the class.

Spring Hill E.S. parent, McLean, Va.  (class: Storybook Science), October 2012

 


 

icon-robo-challengeI wanted to thank you for the detailed email you sent about the first [Robo Challenge] class. It’s so nice to know exactly what goes on in each class. I also wanted to tell you how much my son enjoyed the class.  I even heard from a friend of mine that her son loved it so much, he couldn’t stop talking about it.

-Barnsley E.S. parent, Rockville(class: Robo Challenge), October 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsWe really appreciate you sending the photos/videos.  Great to see what A. and the others are doing!  Thanks so much.

-Woodlin E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego Robotics), October 2012

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThanks for such a detailed review of the first [class].  My son is very much into robotics and enjoyed the first day of Robo Challenge!

-Chevy Chase E.S. parent, Chevy Chase(class: Robo Challenge), October 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you very much for a great first session. Our son had a great time in your class. I arrived early and saw all the children engaged and you giving attention and responses to all children.  Thank you for providing the children with a wonderful atmosphere to learn to work together, and for all the wonderful and informative emails.

-Westbrook E.S. parent, Bethesda (class: Lego RoboticsSeptember 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThat was simply a wonderful class. Thank you so much for your excellent teaching. And your great communications with families. You have set a high standard for other clubs and the practice is spreading!

-Woodlin E.S. club coordinator Mary Vasse,Silver Spring (class: Lego Robotics) May 2012

 


 

icon-storybook-science[My daughter] LOVES your class and is so excited to share with me her experiments and discoveries from class. Thanks for making class so fun & interesting. I love seeing her enthusiastic face & she has no idea right now that she is learning about science!

-Burning Tree E.S. Parent, Bethesda (class: Storybook Science) May 2012

 


 

crime_science[My daughter and son] REALLY loved this past class. They love them all, but this one like the fingerprint one kept them talking and experimenting! I know my kids are learning and having a blast.

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Silver Spring(class: Crime Science) May 2012

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThe Great Adventure Lab just ended and I would say that it was the absolute best after school program we’ve ever participated in. …Thank you sooooo much for bringing that program to Wyngate. It taught my son that he absolutely loves computer programming…which is a big deal for me, since he doesn’t seem to like anything but watching tv! 🙂

-Wyngate E.S. parent,Bethesda (class: Video Game Programming) March 2012

 


 

icon-young-engineersI just wanted to let you know that [my son] had a great time in the Young Engineers class.  It was the perfect activity for a kid like him who loves to learn using hands-on activities.  Out of all of the after school activities my kids have participated in over the past 5 years, this was definitely the best!  I hope that you will do a “Young Engineers 2” in the future.  So thank you so much for teaching D. and offering this class.  It was a great experience for him.

-Bradley Hills ES parent, Bethesda(class: Young Engineers) March 2012

 


 

icon-electronicsThanks a lot for all your hard work with the kids- [My daughter] loved it and is still having fun with the burglar alarm!

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Silver Spring(class: Electronics) March 2012

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classMy son R. came home incredibly excited about his first meeting. He’s always loved Legos and has an affinity for science, math and engineering. He said this is the best activity he’s ever done – just wanted you to know how much you captured his interest in the first session.

-Forcey Christian parent, Silver Spring (class: Mindstorms) March 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so much for teaching the LEGO class. W. really enjoyed himself, and learned a lot. It was fun to hear him tell about his creations, and watch the videos.

-Homeschool parent, Silver Spring(class: Lego Robotics) March 2012

 


 

icon-electronicsThis morning [my son] constructed his radio out of his snap circuits.  He especially loved receiving stations with different languages.  Obviously, your class left a lasting impression!

-Kensington Parkwood E.S. parent, Silver Spring(class: Electronics) February 2012

 


 

icon for The Great Adventure Lab's Lego NXT Mindstorms classYou are doing a marvelous job and we think that this is the start of something really great for J. … Engineering and Robotics are our future and these kids you are working with will be our stars.  Thank you.

-Oakland Terrace E.S. parent, Silver Spring (class: Mindstorms) February 2012

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsMy son G. adored this after school program.  I have never seen him more excited about anything before.  He loves LEGOs and now, loves programming robots.  This is a brilliant program and we will definitely be interested in anything else you have to offer. Thank you!

-Woodlin ES parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego Robotics) November 2011

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingI thought the programming club was exceptional. The kids were very engaged, very creative and absolutely enjoyed learning to use SCRATCH. … They laughed and enjoyed sharing their creations with each other. … The teacher was excited about her subject matter, and eagerly taught the lessons and worked with each student that needed her help.*

-Bannockburn ES parent, Bethesda(class: Video Game Programming) Nov. 2011. Full review here.

 


 

icon-storybook-scienceThank you so much for making Friday after school so much fun for S.! She loves the class and told me you are her favorite teacher! Thanks also for the weekly updates! (instructor: Laura!)

Garrett Park ES parent, Silver Spring(class: Storybook Science). November 2011

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsMy son … told me this is his favorite after school club EVER! You totally rock and I hope that you’ve sparked some interest in engineering among the kids.”

-Woodlin ES parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego Robotics) October 2011

 


 

icon-robo-challengeThanks so much for doing such a great job teaching the class. C. really enjoyed it, learned, and is already looking forward to the next one. We appreciate your patience and skill.

-Oakland Terrace ES parent, Kensington (class: Robo ChallengeOctober 2011

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThank you for the email. J. is so excited about the course. He came home raving about moving sprites.

-Forest Knolls ES parent, Silver Spring(class: Video Game ProgrammingOctober 2011

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks for sending the update, photos and video. My son … loved the class and with the photos and video it’s great to see what he was talking about when he said that they made birds.

-Rosemary Hills ES parent, Kensington (class: Lego RoboticsOctober 2011

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsAll I have to say is that my son was soooo excited when he came home from this class! It was all he talked about that night. …

-Rock View ES  parent, Kensington (class: Lego Robotics) Spring 2011

 


 

icon-young-engineersThanks for your emails and the pics!! P. came home beaming and saying it was so fun. He eagerly told me that triangles are the best for construction– a new lesson, learned through experience. And he is anticipating the upcoming weeks.

– Bradley Hills ES parent, Bethesda (class: Young Engineers) Spring 2011

 


 

crime_scienceI really, really hope your program returns next school year.  M. LOVED it.  I also enjoyed reading about the adventures.

-Sligo Creek ES parent, Silver Spring (class: Crime Science) Spring 2011

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks again for this fantastic program. Nicky said yesterday’s was the best yet session–and he has loved every one! I have been raving about your program to everyone who will listen in this area.

-Rosemary Hills ES parent, Silver Spring (class: Lego Robotics)

 


 

icon-video-game-programmingThanks for making SCRATCH fun.

-Bannockburn ES parent, Bethesda (class: Video Game Programming with Scratch)

 

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsI was impressed with how well it was run, how the instructors worked with the different kids to engage them on their levels, and I would love for [my son] to take it again for the educational value, if nothing else …

-Rock Creek Forest ES parent, Chevy Chase (class: Lego Robotics)

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThanks to you , C. has loved the class.

-Oakland Terrace ES parent, Kensington (class: Lego Robotics)

 

 


 

icon-young-engineersThank you so much for sending these [photos from class] — they are wonderful! My son was really excited to tell me all about the class. Thank you for spending your time this way; we really appreciate it 🙂

-Bradley Hills ES parent, Bethesda (class: Young Engineers, for our instructor Will H., who is also our director of curriculum and teacher training. Will left a career as an electrical engineer to teach high school, and then left that career to take a break. We’re lucky to have him! Like many of our instructors, Will often attaches photos or videos to his notes home after each class. )

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsI think it was a great class for [my daughter]. She had fun and learned a lot! What a great introduction to science and engineering!

-Georgian Forest ES parent, Silver Spring (class:Lego Robotics)

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsQuick note to thank you for the report and for the great work! This sounds like a fabulous class and L. was glowing with excitement when he came home on Wed. They are programming! Amazing!

-Rock Creek Forest ES parent, Chevy Chase(class: Lego Robotics)

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsThank you so very much for your leadership and ability to not only educate but allow the kids to totally enjoy themselves! Thanks again!

-Oakland Terrace ES parent, Kensington (class: Lego Robotics)

 


 

crime_scienceMy daughter loved the class….gender did not make a difference. Both my husband and I are science people so we expect our girl to also be a science person–and she is. She loved the class. She sees this type of science on TV all the time and liked doing it herself. It was exciting to solve the crime. She loved the class, and we were thrilled that she wasn’t the only girl there. It was great to have both male and female instructors.

-Oakland Terrace ES parent, Kensington (class: Crime Science)

 


 

icon-lego-roboticsBoth my daughters did the class and they loved going to it each week! I feel it opens them up to different paths for girls then what are normally offered to them!

-Oakland Terrace ES parent, Kensington(class: Lego Robotics)

 


The Great Adventure Lab is not affiliated, sponsored, or endorsed by LEGO® Education or the LEGO® Group. 

PTA after-school activity coordinators:

Want to get reviews like these for your after-school science programs?
Invite The Great Adventure Lab to your school!

 

For the first scoop on our science summer campsbirthday parties, and new after school science programs,

please join our mailing list!

 

icon for the great adventure lab's lego robotics class for kidsicon for the great adventure lab's robo challenge class - intermediate lego roboticsicon for the great adventure lab's video game programming class using scratchicon for the great adventure lab's electronics class for kids grades 2-3icon for the great adventure lab's early engineers class using duplo legosicon for the great adventure lab's after school science class young engineersicon-space-engineers-after-school-science class by the great adventure labicon-storybook-science-after-school-science class for grades K-1